FreshRemix » Breaks » 601 - We Do Bass (2013)

601 - We Do Bass (2013)

Date: 13.12.2013 | Breaks | Tags: 601, Passenger | Download 601 - We Do Bass (2013) for free.
601 - We Do Bass (2013)

Five years have passed since 601 demonstrated their skillish long-player power with ‘Dirty North’. Since then Nat Slater and George Miller have ravaged the airwaves on Kiss100 and Radio1, frothed up frenzied crowds across Europe and appeared on highly respected labels such as Noodles, Westway, Sub Slayers, Rocstar, Ape and the agenda-setting Passenger.

601 - We Do Bass (2013)
Breaks, Bass | Passenger (PASA014CD)
320 kbps | MP3 | unmixed | 2013-11-25 | 01:03:55 | 155.86 Mb

01. 601 & The Ragga Twins & RTC - Dutty Bass (4:05)
02. Pixilate (5:34)
03. Listen (4:13)
04. U (4:35)
05. 601 & MadRush MC - After Party (4:53)
06. Guerilla Dub (4:20)
07. 601 & Roisin Brophy - Stars (4:42)
08. Like This (4:37)
09. Get Money (4:17)
10. Delta Seventy (4:28)
11. Drop It Now (4:27)
12. 601 & Frilla - Keep It Up (4:41)
13. Relapse (4:17)
14. Land of the Free (4:46)

Sporting an explosive, boundary-blowing experimental technique, the Harrogate-based duo are one of the leading names in the ever-mutating 140 movement. They’ve picked up props from the likes of Rico Tubbs, Diplo, Toddla T, Jaguar Skillz, Marcus Visionary and Shimon and nothing reps this ever-increasing hype more than this 14 track bass opus ‘We Do Bass’. Let’s press play and analyse the treats on offer.
The party is ignited by the game-changing, Ragga Twins-fronted ‘Dutty Bass’. One of the best album openers we’ve heard in years, hype heroics truly don’t get much bolder. ‘Pixilate’ follows. The first single to come from the album, it’s a tried and tested rave homage with searing old skool synths and cut throat bass hook. Up next, ‘Listen’; a stuttering, swashbuckling tear-up that pays respect to the early devastation of formative D&B cuts but delivered at a 140 tempo.
Proof of the duo’s crucial versatility continues on ‘U’. Playfully teasing the riddim around the 80/160 axis, it boasts shades of early jungle and hardcore while remaining wholly contemporary. Up next, ‘Afterparty’. Featuring the forthright mic-mastering of Madrush MC, it’s an ode to extending the party vibe well into the silly hours. Washed with dreamy synths and a bulbous bassline, it’ll have booties shaking way beyond sunrise.
‘Guerrilla Dub’ flips the vibe even further. A skank-maxed roller armed with an obese dub bassline, chop-tickling breakbeats and a hoover-henched switch, it’s yet another naughty notch in the duo’s production bedpost. ‘Stars’, meanwhile, is your quintessential ‘lighters up’ moment thanks to the delicate dulcets of Roison Brophy. ‘Like This’ heaves us out of the emotional charge with a slippery, snake-like topline and an industrial strength waspish bassline while ‘Get Money’ sees 601 dropping the tempo for a raunchy, ghetto-bass workout that comes complete with an immense chugging, diesel powered riddim.
‘Delta Seventy’ surges us into the album’s final straight. A shimmering arpeggio and scorching bassline show the duo at their most rampant; twinkling and tearing in equal measure, it’s yet another instant rewind. ‘Drop It Now’ takes this low-end mischief even further with tight edits on the breaks and truly guttural bass stabs. The Frilla-fronted ‘Keep It Up’ follows with waves of lush rave synths, sharp-tongue lyrical truth-telling and a belly-busting droning bassline. ‘Relapse’, meanwhile, stabs with a steppier sound design, all sharp breakbeats and melodic lines that wouldn’t have gone amiss on early Good Looking cuts.
‘Land Of The Free’ ends this elephantine exercise with undiluted body-slamming badness. A celebration of every bass flavour possible, there are shades of drumstep, breakbeat, D&B, dubstep and 4/4 weaved deep into the hair-raising mix. A fitting end to an absolutely devastating album, if 601 aren’t on your radar yet, they will be after this. And we promise you they’ll stay on it forever. Salute!

601 - We Do Bass (2013)

601 - We Do Bass (2013)
601 - We Do Bass (2013)
601 - We Do Bass (2013)
601 - We Do Bass (2013)
601 - We Do Bass (2013)

All references to music (video) are presented only for fact-finding listening and located not on our server. All files lay on foreign servers to which site irrelevant. Our site is only site on which Users spread references to these files which are publicly available. After listening you must delete the downloaded file and get a legal copy.
Author: anka37
 (Votes #: 1)


May 2018 (241)
April 2018 (377)
March 2018 (480)
February 2018 (480)
January 2018 (520)
December 2017 (481)