FreshRemix » HipHop » Blu - York (2013)

Blu - York (2013)

Date: 11.04.2013 | HipHop | Download Blu - York (2013) for free.
Blu - York (2013)

Blu - York (2013)
Hip-Hop | Nature Sounds
320 kbps | MP3 | unmixed | 2013 | 00:52:11 | 120 Mb

01. Doin' Nothin (feat. U-God) (prod. Flying Lotus)
02. Everything's OK (feat. Jack Davey) (prod. Flying Lotus)
03. Everybody Nose (feat. Sa-Ra & Nola Darling) (prod. Samiyam)
04. Above Crenshaw (feat. Co$$)
05. SLNGBNGrs! (prod. Dibia$e)
06. Soupa (feat. Suzi Analogue) (prod. Samiyam)
07. Hours (prod. by Daedelus)
08. Annie Hall (feat. Chop, Brook T & Tiombe Lockhart) (prod. by Daedelus)
09. Tags (feat. Exile) (prod. Exile)
10. Spring Winter Summer Fall (feat. Jimetta Rose) (prod. Shafiq Husayn)
11. Down to Earth (feat. Donel Smokes, Definite Mass & Dubble Oh) (prod. Shafiq Husayn)
12. My Sunshine (feat. Nia Andrews) (prod. Shafiq Husayn)
13. Keep Pushinn (prod. Knxwledge)
14. Doin' Something (featuring El Prez, Pac Div, U-N-I, J*Davey, Tiron & Ayomari) (prod. Flying Lotus)

On his own, without his DJ sidekick Exile, Blu went all out for his fearlessly exploratory NoYork! album. With four alternate covers appropriated from other sources (this one looks remarkably similar to Cut Copy's Zonoscope; others include a cityscape, a photo of pyramids, and a snapshot of a young Snoop Dogg), a total of 17 guest vocalists, and a whos-who of hot producers (including Madlib, Flying Lotus, Daedelus, and Samiyam), his 2011 album is an overwrought monster. The name of the album references the fact that Blu is opting to move away from the traditional east coast hip-hop beats built from jazz and soul samples, and focusing on the cutting-edge production surfacing from the L.A. underground. It's far from traditional west coast fare, full of spacy sci-fi funk, and futuristic, fractured video game beats that provide the backdrop for abstract, winding, left-field rhymes. In other words, backpack rap. Listeners willing to pull out a shovel and dig through the layers are bound to find something new each time they listen, but for most newbies, a simpler album would be a better starting point, especially considering that in the three years prior to this album, Blu hit his creative stride, releasing a total of seven albums and mixtapes (specifically: Below the Heavens, A Day Late & a Dollar Short, Johnson & Jonson, The GODlee Barnes, The Piece Talks, Her Favorite Colo(u)r, Open/O'Pen, and BeSene), so there is no shortage of options. If an album could be considered a success based solely on ambition, this would be a masterpiece, but as it stands, there are so many frills and guests clouding up the scenery that its hard to place Blu's voice among all the mess. Too bad, because after producing for a spell, the rapper is back in full effect and inspired.

Blu - York (2013)

Blu - York (2013)
Blu - York (2013)
Blu - York (2013)

All references to music (video) are presented only for fact-finding listening and located not on our server. All files lay on foreign servers to which site irrelevant. Our site is only site on which Users spread references to these files which are publicly available. After listening you must delete the downloaded file and get a legal copy.
Author: warcar
 (Votes #: 1)


June 2018 (289)
May 2018 (354)
April 2018 (374)
March 2018 (480)
February 2018 (480)
January 2018 (520)