FreshRemix » House » GhostChant - Sincerity (2015)

GhostChant - Sincerity (2015)

Date: 25.09.2015 | House, Dance, Chillout, Downtempo | Tags: BBE, GhostChant, Electronic, Nu Jazz, Ambient, Downtempo, ChillOut | Download GhostChant - Sincerity (2015) for free.
GhostChant - Sincerity (2015)

Review: Inspired by such disparate stuff as 'intelligent' drum and bass, The Wu-Tang Clan and Burial, UK producer Ghostchant (aka Joe Cornwell) finally gets to combine elements of all his influences in this, his debut LP. Having already treated us to lead track "Reasons", we now get to hear the other 13. Highlights of this dreamy record include the haunted urban garage of the title track, the delicate and beguiling ballad "Siren's Song" featuring vocals by Sophia Ben-Yousef and the ethereal acoustic closer "Coming Home".

GhostChant - Sincerity (2015)
Electronic,Nu Jazz, Ambient,Downtempo, ChillOut | BBE
320 kbps | MP3 | unmixed | 2015 | 01:06:51 | 169 Mb


01. GhostChant - Intro (01:50)
02. GhostChant - Sincerity (04:54)
03. GhostChant - Feel Nothing (04:49)
04. GhostChant - Laid To Rest (05:15)
05. GhostChant - Oceans Between (feat. FiFi Rong) (04:19)
06. GhostChant - 4th City (feat. ChaCha + Chimpo) (04:57)
07. GhostChant - Habituary (feat. SpaceGhostPurrp) (03:41)
08. GhostChant - Siren's Song (feat. Sophia Ben-Yousef) (05:36)
09. GhostChant - Stay Gold (feat. Ragz) (05:08)
10. GhostChant - Reasons (feat. Anthony Kastelanides) (05:49)
11. GhostChant - In Secret (02:47)
12. GhostChant - Nights Like These (feat. Sarah Zad) (05:06)
13. GhostChant - Enigmatic (06:49)
14. GhostChant - Coming Home (05:43)

The music of GhostChant is, appropriately, haunted by traces of musical spirits that Joe Cornwell (the young man behind the moniker) mustve registered subliminally some listeners will hear echoes of intelligent drumn bass, and artists as diverse as Everything But The Girl, Boards of Canada and The Wu-Tang Clan in the emotional atmospherics created by this remarkable new talent others have already him as part of the future garage movement, and Joe himself will namecheck the likes of Burial, Bonobo and even MJ Cole as influences on his music. None of which quite prepares you for the depth and quality of Sincerity, his debut album. Originally from London, Joe now hails from Liverpool, where he was until fairly recently a university student studying music though Joe puts studying in inverted commas: I didnt really attend many lectures. I just spent all my time writing my own music. If Sincerity is the result, Joes academic loss is our gain. Not until recently associated with underground music, Liverpool now has a thriving scene spanning the worlds of rock and dance. Cornwell made a big splash at the citys recent Sound City festival event, and speaks highly of the creative buzz that now emanates through the citys more left-field venues. As well as Sound City, hes played as far afield as Hong Kong, where he opened (in a live set) for fellow maverick Kieron Hebdons FourTet at the islands Clockenflap Festival. Hes also scheduled to play the BBCs Introducing stage at this years Bestival Meanwhile, support on the airwaves has come from Radio 1s (and Bestival organizer) Rob Da Bank and garage station Rinse FM. An eclectic DJ known for dropping old-school house and garage as well as the newer stuff he plays, Ghost Chants artist debut belies any reductive dance music tags. The mood is predominantly down-beat, melancholic and wistful rather than bubbling, and despite the plethora of fingers-on-the-pulse guest spots, has a distinctive artist identity throughout. Joe (who will play the guitar at his live gigs) describes the sounds he draws from his laptop as instruments and with them he creates music that is spare but dynamic. Im quite introspective and reflective really I wouldnt say moody. Music can be emotive without being happy feel-good stuff. Joe cites the hardcore/punk he listened to before his later immersion in contemporary dance culture as being formative in this respect: bands like GlassJaw, The Movielife , Botch I loved the energy and emotion in their music. Garage and dub-step play a massive part in how i write my music and Im a huge fan of both and people can definitely hear those influences in my songs. The term future garage is a bit of a swinger to me though. It made more sense to me maybe a year ago but now it has kind of taken on odd connotations. Ambient bass music is what i have been calling my music lately. Divided into two halves, The Path and The Process, Sincerity hooks you in right from its moody Intro and sublimely ambient title track, through the nihilistic dubbed-out trip-hop of Feel Nothing and the single that created a real buzz about this release, Laid To Rest, while distinctly urban vibes are provided by garage heads ChaCha and Chimpo and US rapper Space Ghost Purpp. Other guest appearances come from Liverpools very own Ragz, and an extremely diverse cast of singers including Fifi Rong, Holly Lapsley, Sarah Zad, Anthony Kastelanides (featured on the debut single Laid To Rest) and Sofia Yousef unique artists sought out by Ghost Chant as the right voice in each case for his beats. Says Joe, The title of the album Sincerity relates to the idea human beings arent perfect and despite many of our good intentions we dont always do the right thing (on a personal level and on a wider scale) but whats important is that people should wear their hearts on the their sleeves and try to be honest and true to themselves. The Path is about making those mistakes and learning from them and The Process is more about trying to address our imperfections and failures, weakness and insecurities. Or something like that! he laughs. Its an intense, somewhat dark journey from one end of the album to the other, but were betting that just like us, youll be heading straight back to the beginning as soon as youve reached the end. Were expecting big things from this album and probably even bigger to come from GhostChant dont sleep on it!

GhostChant - Sincerity (2015)

GhostChant - Sincerity (2015)
GhostChant - Sincerity (2015)
GhostChant - Sincerity (2015)
All references to music (video) are presented only for fact-finding listening and located not on our server. All files lay on foreign servers to which site irrelevant. Our site is only site on which Users spread references to these files which are publicly available. After listening you must delete the downloaded file and get a legal copy.
Author: hsrb2
 (Votes #: 1)