FreshRemix » Pop » The Ballet - I Blame Society (2013)

The Ballet - I Blame Society (2013)

Date: 15.08.2013 | Pop, Rock | Tags: Indie, Indie Pop | Download The Ballet - I Blame Society (2013) for free.
The Ballet - I Blame Society (2013)

The Ballet - I Blame Society (2013)
Indie, Indie Pop | Fortuna POP!
320 kbps | MP3 | unmixed | 2013 | 40:20 | 85 Mb

01 Alright
02 Cruel Path
03 Difficult Situations
04 Feelings
05 Meaningless
06 Too Much Time
07 Is Anybody Out There
08 Turn You
09 Sorry
10 All The Way

180g Heavyweight Vinyl LP (Limited to 500).... I Blame Society is the third album from New York trio The Ballet and their first for new label Fortuna POP! Unashamedly sissy and explicitly queer, The Ballet marry the DIY queer ethos of the Hidden Cameras with the wry poeticism of The Magnetic Fields to create literate, infectious pop gems. The band will be playing the Indietracks Festival 26-28 July, followed by a UK tour culminating with a London show at The Lexington on 1 August. I Blame Society is a continuation of the lyrical themes and songwriting style found in the band s two previous self-released albums (Mattachine! [2006] and Bear Life! [2009]), though with slightly pared down arrangements and a nuanced production, which highlights songwriter Greg Goldberg s strengths. Inspired by Stephin Merritt s body of work, Goldberg draws from an array of pop artists and periods, from 60 s bubblegum to 80 s synthpop and 90 s indiepop, fusing these in sophisticated and novel ways which rewards repeat listening. Avoiding autobiographical or confessional modes, Goldberg nonetheless mines his own psychological constitution and intellectual interests to craft songs whose overt musical prettiness is often contrasted by a dark and complex subtext. I Blame Society addresses a number of queer themes, offering a nuanced and refreshing perspective on contemporary queer issues, subtly balancing queer melancholy with self-deprecating humour and stubborn utopianism. While some queer musicians shy away from articulating a connection between their sexuality and musicianship, The Ballet have often contended the opposite: that they are a bunch of queers who just happen to be in a band. Formed in 2005 by Greg Goldberg and Craig Willse (who are both professors and met whilst at graduate school) with Marina Miranda (who they met at a party), The Ballet are still going strong after eight years of pop magic, retaining their original line-up. That s not to say they haven t gone through some line-up changes over the years. Acquired bandmates Ginger Brooks Takahashi and Michael O'Neill left in 2007 to join JD Sampson in MEN. Indiepop luminaries such as Linton from The Aislers Set and Ramesh from Voxtrot have also made guest appearances on previous albums, as have Kaki King and Scott Matthew. // "Recalling Holiday-era Magnetic Fields, these songs bop with heady buoyancy, yet are underpinned by complicated but universal themes: self-deception, infidelity without shame, war fatigue and finding love in a world of online hookups."

The Ballet - I Blame Society (2013)

The Ballet - I Blame Society (2013)
The Ballet - I Blame Society (2013)
The Ballet - I Blame Society (2013)

All references to music (video) are presented only for fact-finding listening and located not on our server. All files lay on foreign servers to which site irrelevant. Our site is only site on which Users spread references to these files which are publicly available. After listening you must delete the downloaded file and get a legal copy.
Author: salat
 (Votes #: 0)