FreshRemix » Pop » Leftover Cuties - The Spark & the Fire (2013)

Leftover Cuties - The Spark & the Fire (2013)

Date: 15.09.2013 | Pop | Tags: Indie Pop, Folk | Download Leftover Cuties - The Spark & the Fire (2013) for free.
Leftover Cuties - The Spark & the Fire (2013)

Do speakeasies still exist in LA? This is what Leftover Cuties sophomore album, The Spark & The Fire, seems to imply.

Leftover Cuties - The Spark & the Fire (2013)
Indie Pop, Folk | LLeftover Cuties
Lossless | FLAC | unmixed | 2013 | 44:58 | 275 Mb


1. Thick and Thin (03:00)
2. One Heart (02:46)
3. Once Again (04:22)
4. Clarity (04:22)
5. If Only It Could Be (03:25)
6. All That Love (03:19)
7. What's the Matter? (05:06)
8. Blind Man (03:23)
9. Rise and Shine (03:25)
10. Shame (02:31)
11. Everyone (05:41)
12. I've Been Waiting (03:38)

The twelve tracks are filled with the sounds of brush drums, trumpet, ukuleles, accordion, an upright bass, and what I imagine to be a rickety, old piano thats barely functional but highly charismatic. And romance. The tracks are brimming with the ups and downs of romance. Put a silky, feminine, jazz-inspired vocalist up front and we have the makings of a retro throwback band.

With this album, Leftover Cuties pick up where they left off with their last release, Places To Go, by playing up their stylized sound. Theyve kept the vintage feel and picked up a brighter attitude, a mid upbeat tempo, and a cleaner, higher production value. Its a more accessible pop album than their previous material, an expected but welcome addition to their catalogue. What The Spark & The Fire has managed to capture better than the bands previous releases is the feeling of an intimate live venue. The warmth of the instruments, the careful mix of brass as a big but not overwhelming presence, and the closeness of Shirli McAllens voice create the feel of a lively, cozy venue that we can only dream actually exists.

Although Leftover Cuties only started to build a large following when they were featured as the title theme to the Showcase series The Big C, theyve been playing this stylized music for quite a few years. Conveniently, the rest of us have finally caught up to their ahead-of-the-times/after-the-times panache and weve now found ourselves in the middle of a vintage pop culture trend. Their music fits right in with Instagram filters, vinyl revivals and Urban Outfitters fashion. So how will this album stand up to the test of time, after weve all moved on to a different aesthetic trend? The album may have its more stylized songs like the big band inspired, If Only It Could Be, and the sultry jazz lounge number, Shame, but when it comes down to its core basics, The Spark & The Fire is a pop album. It uses simple structures and catchy choruses to carry its tunes. Unconventional instruments make it stand out from the crowd but its the songwriting and performance that ultimately makes the album a worthwhile and overall pleasant experience.
Review by Betty Dang

Leftover Cuties - The Spark & the Fire (2013)

Leftover Cuties - The Spark & the Fire (2013)
Leftover Cuties - The Spark & the Fire (2013)
Leftover Cuties - The Spark & the Fire (2013)

All references to music (video) are presented only for fact-finding listening and located not on our server. All files lay on foreign servers to which site irrelevant. Our site is only site on which Users spread references to these files which are publicly available. After listening you must delete the downloaded file and get a legal copy.
Author: salat
 (Votes #: 0)