FreshRemix » RnB » Screamin' Jay Hawkins - The Ultimate Hit Collection (2014)

Screamin' Jay Hawkins - The Ultimate Hit Collection (2014)

Date: 6.12.2014 | RnB, Pop, Rock | Tags: Afire, Screamin Jay Hawkins | Download Screamin' Jay Hawkins - The Ultimate Hit Collection (2014) for free.
Screamin' Jay Hawkins - The Ultimate Hit Collection (2014)

Screamin' Jay Hawkins was the most outrageous performer extant during rock's dawn. Prone to emerging out of coffins on-stage, a flaming skull named Henry his constant companion, Screamin' Jay was an insanely theatrical figure long before it was even remotely acceptable. Hawkins' life story is almost as bizarre as his on-stage schtick. Originally inspired by the booming baritone of Paul Robeson, Hawkins was unable to break through as an opera singer. His boxing prowess was every bit as lethal as his vocal cords; many of his most hilarious tales revolve around Jay beating the hell out of a musical rival.

Screamin' Jay Hawkins - The Ultimate Hit Collection (2014)
Pop/Rock, Blues, Funk | Afire
320 kbps | MP3 | unmixed | 2014 | 01:37:55 | 231 Mb

01. I Put a Spell on You
02. Little Demon
03. Person to Person
04. I Hear Voices
05. This Is All
06. Yellow Coat
07. She Put the Whamee One Me
08. Frenzy
09. Ashes
10. Just Don't Care
11. You're All of My Life to Me
12. Even Though
13. Not Anymore
14. Please Try to Understand
15. I Is
16. You Made Me Love You
17. Talk About Me
18. Well I Tried
19. I Found My Way to Wine
20. Baptize Me in Wine
21. There's Something
22. Alligator Wine
23. The Past
24. Orange Coloured Sky
25. Armpit No.6
26. Darling, Please, Forgive Me
27. Take Me Back
28. Hong Kong
29. Why Did You Waste My Time
30. Nitty Gritty
31. Take Me Back to My Boots
32. Temptation
33. If You Are but a Dream
34. Ol' Man River
35. I Love Paris
36. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
37. Deep Purple

Hawkins caught his first musical break in 1951 as pianist/valet to veteran jazz guitarist Tiny Grimes. He debuted on wax for Gotham the following year with "Why Did You Waste My Time," backed by Grimes & His Rockin' Highlanders (they donned kilts and tam o' shanters on-stage). Singles for Timely ("Baptize Me in Wine") and Mercury's Wing subsidiary (1955's otherworldly "[She Put The] Wamee [On Me]," a harbinger of things to come) preceded Hawkins' immortal 1956 rendering of "I Put a Spell on You" for Columbia's OKeh imprint.

Hawkins originally envisioned the tune as a refined ballad. After he and his New York session aces (notably guitarist Mickey Baker and saxist Sam "The Man" Taylor) had imbibed to the point of no return, Hawkins screamed, grunted, and gurgled his way through the tune with utter drunken abandon. A resultant success despite the protests of uptight suits-in-power, "I Put a Spell on You" became Screamin' Jay's biggest seller ("Little Demon," its rocking flip, is a minor classic itself).

Hawkins cut several amazing 1957-1958 follow-ups in the same crazed vein "Hong Kong," a surreal "Yellow Coat," the Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller-penned "Alligator Wine" but none of them clicked the way "Spell" had. DJ Alan Freed convinced Screamin' Jay that popping out of a coffin might be a show-stopping gimmick by handing him a $300 bonus (long after Freed's demise, Screamin' Jay Hawkins was still benefiting from his crass brainstorm).

Hawkins' next truly inspired waxing came in 1969 when he was contracted to Philips Records (where he made two albums). His gross "Constipation Blues" wouldn't garner much airplay, but remained an integral part of his legacy for quite a while.

The cinema was a beneficiary of Screamin' Jay's larger-than-life persona in later years. His featured roles in Mystery Train and A Rage in Harlem made Hawkins a familiar visage to youngsters who never even heard "I Put a Spell on You." He died February 12, 2000 following surgery to treat an aneurysm; Hawkins was 70.

Screamin' Jay Hawkins - The Ultimate Hit Collection (2014)

Screamin' Jay Hawkins - The Ultimate Hit Collection (2014)
Screamin' Jay Hawkins - The Ultimate Hit Collection (2014)
Screamin' Jay Hawkins - The Ultimate Hit Collection (2014)

All references to music (video) are presented only for fact-finding listening and located not on our server. All files lay on foreign servers to which site irrelevant. Our site is only site on which Users spread references to these files which are publicly available. After listening you must delete the downloaded file and get a legal copy.
Author: vovanikus
 (Votes #: 0)


June 2018 (306)
May 2018 (354)
April 2018 (374)
March 2018 (480)
February 2018 (480)
January 2018 (520)